Second IEEE Workshop on
Quality of Experience for Multimedia Communications - QoEMC2013
(in conjunction with IEEE Globecom 2013)
Atlanta, GA USA, 13 December, 2013
Sponsored by the Technical Committee on Multimedia Communications of the IEEE Communications Society

Technical Program

09:00 - 09:10 Welcome/Opening Address
09:10 - 10:00 Keynote Address: Prof. Mihaela van der Schaar, UCLA
Maximizing the Quality of Experience: Taking Care of Tomorrow
10:00 - 10:30 Coffee break
10:30 - 12:30 Session I
QoE-aware transmissions and evaluation

Chair: Constandinos X. Mavromoustakis

Quality Aware, Adaptive, 3D Media Distribution over P2P architectures
Mikolaj I. Leszczuk; Dawid Juszka; Lucjan Janowski; Michał Grega (AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland);
Rui Santos Cruz (Instituto Superior Técnico - Universidade Técnica de Lisboa, Portugal);
Mario S. Nunes (Instituto de Engenharia de Sistemas e Computadores (INESC), Portugal);
Charalampos Z. Patrikakis (Technological Educational Institute of Piraeus, Greece);
Stavros Papanagiotou (NTUA, Greece);

Symmetric Video Multicast over Multihop Wireless Network Using Inter-/Intra-Session Network Coding
Du Yang; Joanna Bachmatiuk; Shahid Mumtaz; Jonathan Rodriguez (Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal);

Handset and Network Quality Performance Benchmarking for QoE Improvement
Davide Micheli (Telecom Italia - TILAB, Italy);
Alessandra Curto; Marina Mazzurco (Telecom Italia, Italy);
Laura Pierucci; Romano Fantacci; Renato Simoni (University of Florence, Italy);

Real-Time Performance Evaluation of F-BTD scheme for optimized QoS Energy Conservation in Wireless Devices
Constandinos X. Mavromoustakis (University of Nicosia, Cyprus);
Christos Dimitriou (Dept. of Computer Science, University of Nicosia, Cyprus);
George Mastorakis; Evangelos Pallis (Technological Educational Insitute of Crete, Greece);

Mobile Web QoE Study for Smartphones
Jiri Hosek; Michal Ries; Pavel Vajsar; Lubos Nagy (Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic);
Zdenek Sulc; Petr Hais; Radek Penizek (T-Mobile Czech Republic, Czech Republic);

Freely Available Large-scale Video Quality Assessment Database in Full-HD Resolution with H.264 Coding
Mikolaj I. Leszczuk; Lucjan Janowski (AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland);
Marcus Barkowsky (University of Nantes, France)

12:30 - 13:30 Lunch
13:30 - 15:30 Session II
QoE Assessment and Models

Chair: Lucjan Janowski

Objective Characterization of Human Behavioural Characteristics for QoE Assessment: A Pilot Study on the Use of Electroencephalography Features
Khalil Rehman Laghari; Tiago Falk (INRS-EMT, Canada);
Rishabh Gupta (INRS-EMT, University of Quebec, Canada);
Jan-Niklas Antons (TU Berlin, Deutsche Telekom Laboratories, Germany);
Robert Schleicher (TU Berlin, Germany);
Sebastian Möller (Quality and Usability Lab, Telekom Innovation Labs, TU Berlin, Germany);

Perceptual quality assessment of HTTP adaptive video streaming
George Papadogiannopoulos; Ilias Politis (University of Patras, Greece);
Tasos Dagiuklas; Lampros Dounis (Hellenic Open University, Greece);

Improved E-model for Monitoring Quality of Multi-Party VoIP communications
Mohamed Adel (TSSG, Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland);
Haytham Assem; David Malone (NUI Maynooth, Ireland);
Brendan Jennings (Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland);
Jonathan Dunne; Pat O'Sullivan (Systems and Performance Engineering, IBM Dublin, Software Lab, Ireland);

Back to Normal? Impact of Temporally Increasing Network Disturbances on QoE
Junaid Shaikh; Markus Fiedler; Pangkaj Paul (Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden);
Sebastian Egger (Telecommunications Research Center Vienna (FTW), Austria);
Frédéric Guyard (Orange Labs, France);

Investigation into 5.1-channel spatial audio quality of experience in the presence of accompanying video cues with spatial mismatch
Chungeun Kim; Ahmet Kondoz (University of Surrey, United Kingdom);

15:30 - 16:00 Coffee break
16:00 - 17:00 Panel Discussion
Chair: Tasos Dagiuklas
Panelists: Jacob Chakareski (University of Alabama, USA);
Ozgur Oyman (Wireless Communications Lab of Intel Labs);
Charalampos Z. Patrikakis (Technological Educational Institute of Piraeus, Greece);
Yonggang Wen (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore);